SynthEyes

Audio production, MS paint, Call of Duty, etc

SynthEyes

Postby plae57 on 02/27/2016, 6:49 pm

I have been compositing with After Effects for about 10 years, and went crazy a few years back when they introduced their 3d tracker. I immediately understood the problem with After Effects when dealing with 3d. After Effects can't. Ok, it can, but it is 2.5d. So I recently moved to Fusion for another compositing option with a full 3d environment (and was affordable).

Sadly Fusion does not come with a integrated 3d camera tracker so I started investigating my options because with out that, I had no need to move to Fusion. Well after looking at multiple software packages and scripts and plugins, I settled on SynthEyes. The price was $499.00 for the pro version and $299.00 for the beginner version. I bought the pro version so I can say I am a pro to all my friends that don't know the truth, that I am just an old guy having a blast with the Atlanta indie film community.

The price put it right in the middle of the pack as far as cost goes. But when looking at features and ease of use, well for me, SynthEyes blew away the competition. I have tested about 10 different video situations, and on all but one, the Automatic process combined with their clean up process all gave me track with a HIPX under .9, some as low as .43. If I go back in and do some manual cleanup, I can generally shave another .1 or .2 off that. Bottom line VERY respectable solutions on all but one of my tests. Note, every test was with an image sequence not a video file.

Now, the one that got away... The one that didn't work failed miserably in both SynthEyes and After Effects. It was a drone shot of the drone flying about 10ft off the ground traveling straight forward really fast. I am thinking that it may be untrackable.