3D Shadows

Discuss Video Copilot Tutorials & Presets

3D Shadows

Postby vaiguy on 08/4/2008, 3:09 pm

I have done everything in Andrew's tut but mine just wont cast shadows, any help?
vaiguy
 
Posts: 132
Joined: 08/1/2008, 8:43 pm

Re: 3D Shadows

Postby vaiguy on 08/4/2008, 4:08 pm

The only way to get the shadow is to turn on the "Accept Lights" option in my BG layer. But than I get this...
Attachments
3D Shadows.jpg
vaiguy
 
Posts: 132
Joined: 08/1/2008, 8:43 pm

Re: 3D Shadows

Postby vaiguy on 08/4/2008, 4:55 pm

I figured it out, thanks for all your help. :roll:
vaiguy
 
Posts: 132
Joined: 08/1/2008, 8:43 pm

Re: 3D Shadows

Postby dannystern on 08/4/2008, 9:41 pm

This is discussed in the Free tuts section of the forum... sometimes the point light doesn't work and you can try change it to a spot light when you turn off the accepts lights switch
Life is simply time in between compositing
dannystern
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 08/3/2008, 3:41 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: 3D Shadows

Postby Andrew Kramer on 08/4/2008, 10:39 pm

Moved. some people use a spot light and be sure to turn on adaptive resolution.
Andrew Kramer
VC Awesome Guy
VC Awesome Guy
 
Posts: 1201
Joined: 01/11/2008, 12:54 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: 3D Shadows

Postby Ninja on 08/5/2008, 6:41 am

how come the point light doesnt always work in this context?
is there a work around to make it work rather than using the spot light?
Ninja
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 08/4/2008, 6:43 am

Re: 3D Shadows

Postby aleph on 08/5/2008, 7:06 am

It is an openGL bug. With certain graphic cardrs only spotlights casts shadows. No shadow difussion ither
aleph
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 08/2/2008, 1:02 pm

Re: 3D Shadows

Postby Ramzes on 08/6/2008, 2:54 am

Hello. You should bring up the intensity of light - it works for me. (sorry my english sucks) ;) .
Ramzes
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 08/6/2008, 2:51 am
Location: Piwniczna Poland

Re: 3D Shadows

Postby kira on 08/7/2008, 7:49 pm

i did the 3D tutorial text with shadows but i dont know how to export the image how can i save it/export it? im looking in the menu but theres just avi, mov, per frames, etc but i can find for example save as jpg or something so im confused because its just one photo with 3d text shadows.

acabo de hacer el tutorial de texto en 3d con sombras pero como exporto la imagen? no veo alguna opcion solo exportar a mov avi y por frames pero no una opcion para exportar una imagen.
kira
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 08/1/2008, 10:05 pm

Re: 3D Shadows

Postby GlowMaker on 08/7/2008, 8:20 pm

you should set your comp. to 1 frame and then export as a sequence of images

debes poner tu composicion a 1 solo frame, y luego exportar en secuencia de imagenes :D
GlowMaker
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 08/2/2008, 9:37 am

Re: 3D Shadows

Postby aleph on 08/16/2008, 9:10 am

go to composition/save frame as
aleph
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 08/2/2008, 1:02 pm

Re: 3D Shadows

Postby bwoogie on 08/16/2008, 9:46 am

I'm not having any luck with casting shadows from text... I've done it with vectors imported from illustrator. But I just can't get text layers to cast shadows. I've tried all the different lights and positions.. What is wrong?
The reset button was my idea.
bwoogie
VC Moderator
VC Moderator
 
Posts: 2129
Joined: 08/1/2008, 7:30 pm
Location: Wichita, KS
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/bwoogie


Return to VC Tutorials & Presets