blender and metropolitan pack

3D max, Cinema 4D, Blender or your favorite 3D app

blender and metropolitan pack

Postby badmonk on 12/5/2016, 12:05 pm

hey guys

got the city 3d city pack from VC and its awesome but was trying to use it in blender, so had to use autodesk fbx convertor like I normally do and then imported the fbx file into blender but while in texture mode, it shows up fine, if I view the city in render or material mode then its all pink???
I have looked all over the web and youtube and tried all the methods but still nothing works??

funny thing is, some buildings are ok and others not and projectile pack and music pack are also fine.

any ideas please guys?
badmonk
 
Posts: 233
Joined: 12/11/2008, 3:22 am
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2147.hotfix)

OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit 10.0.14393

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
RAM: 32705MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 21.21.13.7633
GPU RAM: 8192MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%) (GL Interop)
CL1: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%)

Re: blender and metropolitan pack

Postby plae57 on 12/5/2016, 12:09 pm

badmonk wrote:hey guys, got the city 3d city pack from VC and its awesome but was trying to use it in blender, so had to use autodesk fbx convertor...


Just out of curiosity why didn't you just use the OBJ versions?
plae57
 
Posts: 574
Joined: 08/4/2014, 4:12 am

Re: blender and metropolitan pack

Postby badmonk on 12/5/2016, 2:04 pm

plae57 wrote:
badmonk wrote:hey guys, got the city 3d city pack from VC and its awesome but was trying to use it in blender, so had to use autodesk fbx convertor...


Just out of curiosity why didn't you just use the OBJ versions?

thanks for the reply. well fbx normally comes with it all in one package, i.e textures included in same file etc with the obj and blender as far as I can make out, I would have to upwrap UV etc whereas re fbx I just drop em in and they work fine.

I am using cycles render btw in blender
badmonk
 
Posts: 233
Joined: 12/11/2008, 3:22 am
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2147.hotfix)

OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit 10.0.14393

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
RAM: 32705MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 21.21.13.7633
GPU RAM: 8192MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%) (GL Interop)
CL1: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%)

Re: blender and metropolitan pack

Postby plae57 on 12/6/2016, 5:16 am

I am also a Blender user (since 2.49), and have always just used the OBJ (including Jet Strike, Metropolitan, and Motion 2) However, since moving to Fusion for most compositing and VFX, I have found that I am only using Blender to modify models. I have never had the issue with OBJs you are, but then, I don't do a lot of complex animations of the OBJ either.
plae57
 
Posts: 574
Joined: 08/4/2014, 4:12 am

Re: blender and metropolitan pack

Postby badmonk on 12/6/2016, 8:34 am

plae57 wrote:I am also a Blender user (since 2.49), and have always just used the OBJ (including Jet Strike, Metropolitan, and Motion 2) However, since moving to Fusion for most compositing and VFX, I have found that I am only using Blender to modify models. I have never had the issue with OBJs you are, but then, I don't do a lot of complex animations of the OBJ either.

thanks for replying. If I import into blender render then its fine but if I use cycles (which is what I use mainly now) then they are blank if I use obj and pink if I use fbx???
I know pink is missing files or materials but I cant work it out.
badmonk
 
Posts: 233
Joined: 12/11/2008, 3:22 am
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2147.hotfix)

OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit 10.0.14393

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
RAM: 32705MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 21.21.13.7633
GPU RAM: 8192MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%) (GL Interop)
CL1: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%)

Re: blender and metropolitan pack

Postby plae57 on 12/6/2016, 9:18 am

badmonk wrote:...If I import into blender render then its fine but if I use cycles...


DOH! You said that earlier, that's why. I don't render in Blender, so I don't use cycles to render. But cycles is what turned me on to nodes, and I have since switched to Fusion as my primary compositor because of the nodes.
plae57
 
Posts: 574
Joined: 08/4/2014, 4:12 am

Re: blender and metropolitan pack

Postby badmonk on 12/13/2016, 3:31 am

anyone else who uses cycles and met pack have any of these pink problems please?
badmonk
 
Posts: 233
Joined: 12/11/2008, 3:22 am
System Specs: Build: Element x64 2.2.2 (2147.hotfix)

OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit 10.0.14393

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
RAM: 32705MB

GPU Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080/PCIe/SSE2
GPU Driver: 21.21.13.7633
GPU RAM: 8192MB
GPU Code: 0

CL0: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%) (GL Interop)
CL1: GeForce GTX 1080 (50.0%)

Re: blender and metropolitan pack

Postby multiabhay on 12/19/2016, 11:01 pm

it's pink because textures are missing.
go to materials and assign the textures manually.
multiabhay
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 08/2/2008, 8:59 am
Location: Mumbai, India
System Specs: Processor : i5 6500, Motherboard : MSI B150M, Ram : Kingston Hyperx 16GB,
SSD : Kingston 240GB, Gfx : Geforce 1060.
OS : Linux (KDE NEON)


Return to 3D Animation