DSLR H.264 footage workflow in AE

Premiere, Vegas, Final Cut, QuickTime, DVD authoring etc.

DSLR H.264 footage workflow in AE

Postby thanulee on 01/19/2015, 7:34 pm

Hello,
So my footage comin out from my 700d is H264. I read that H264 when u start post, gets really heavy inside AE.

So my first question is: Is there any good format (Im working on a pc so i dont have ProRes here) to export the H264 to be lighter to work with?
And my second question is: 99% of the times i export H264 for utube or vimeo usage. Is it better to export through media encoder or str8 from AE or is it the same?
ty
thanulee
 
Posts: 158
Joined: 02/9/2012, 2:12 am

Re: DSLR H.264 footage workflow in AE

Postby al board on 01/20/2015, 12:23 am

My advice: convert your files to Quicktime-mov with Photo-JPEG using Media Encoder. Those files get fairly large but are easy to work with. For rendering I advice exporting Quicktime-mov with Photo-JPEG as well. Transcode to H.264 via Media Encoder for uploads to youtube etc. for best results.
al board
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 05/3/2010, 5:22 am

Re: DSLR H.264 footage workflow in AE

Postby LordEdington on 01/20/2015, 2:12 am

What Al said. I go for 90% quality Photo JPEGs
LordEdington
 
Posts: 1080
Joined: 05/24/2009, 10:24 am
Location: Derby, East Midlands, UK
Twitter: http://twitter.com/Stencil_Media

Re: DSLR H.264 footage workflow in AE

Postby thanulee on 01/20/2015, 9:10 am

Thank u guys!!! Btw media encoder supports multithreading?
thanulee
 
Posts: 158
Joined: 02/9/2012, 2:12 am

Re: DSLR H.264 footage workflow in AE

Postby LordEdington on 01/20/2015, 9:52 am

I think so, but I'd double check before taking my word for it! It does use the Mercury Playback Engine though, like Premiere, so it'll work better if you have a decent graphics card.
LordEdington
 
Posts: 1080
Joined: 05/24/2009, 10:24 am
Location: Derby, East Midlands, UK
Twitter: http://twitter.com/Stencil_Media

Re: DSLR H.264 footage workflow in AE

Postby thanulee on 01/20/2015, 9:58 am

In Photo JPEG has a field order and by default it has it to upper. I leave it like this? thanx alot!!
thanulee
 
Posts: 158
Joined: 02/9/2012, 2:12 am

Re: DSLR H.264 footage workflow in AE

Postby LordEdington on 01/20/2015, 3:23 pm

You should be able to change it to progressive. Your footage should be progressive from your camera.
LordEdington
 
Posts: 1080
Joined: 05/24/2009, 10:24 am
Location: Derby, East Midlands, UK
Twitter: http://twitter.com/Stencil_Media


Return to Video Editing, Authoring & Compression