Strange Audio Problems

Premiere, Vegas, Final Cut, QuickTime, DVD authoring etc.

Strange Audio Problems

Postby nfnte on 10/28/2014, 9:36 pm

I am having a very strange problem. A client gave me a HDD with Canon 5D mark II footage to edit. I actually edited an entire video yesterday with zero issues.
Today, I am going thru the capture scratch and i can barely hear the audio. Its so bad, I cant hear it to edit. I click on the clip in the capture scratch folder and hit space bar to preview and barely any audio level. I double click on it and it opens up in quicktime and barely any audio level. I import to FCP 7 and the same problem. I have restarted my MacPro multiple times. A couple of times I will get full audio then it goes away in a few seconds. Ive tried everything I can think of. I cleared the PRAM in my MacPro.
Also, to clarify as an editor, I have multiple videos on my desktop. I can click on anyone and the audio is perfect in all other clips. I only barely any have levels on this 5D footage. What's strange to clarify is all the audio was there yesterday and I edited an entire video. I also transferred all the capture scratch and entire project folder to my internal hdd from his external hdd and no difference. I get perfect audio when going to youtube and watching a video, so its not my audio setup. It has to be something with his footage, but I dont understand why it worked perfectly yesterday.

Any thoughts?
Please help!!!!
nfnte

Re: Strange Audio Problems

Postby Michael_Szalapski on 10/29/2014, 8:27 am

What software do you use to edit?
What OS are you using?
You get fine audio levels in other video files on your system and in your editing software?
Michael_Szalapski

Twitter: thegreatszalam

Postby Farmfield on 10/29/2014, 8:45 am

nfnte wrote:I am having a very strange problem. A client gave me a HDD with Canon 5D mark II footage to edit. I actually edited an entire video yesterday with zero issues.