.mts file and Premiere Pro CS6 no audio

Premiere, Vegas, Final Cut, QuickTime, DVD authoring etc.

.mts file and Premiere Pro CS6 no audio

Postby Director on 09/15/2014, 10:10 pm

I download k-lite codec's and everything I can't figure out why I dont even have an audio track in the project timeline... It plays in media players just find. I can't go buy a converter to convert over 100 video files... Anyone have suggestions? ||-<
twitter.com/videography
Director
 
Posts: 376
Joined: 08/1/2008, 6:25 pm

Re: .mts file and Premiere Pro CS6 no audio

Postby MotionGraphics ab on 09/15/2014, 10:47 pm

There are lots of possible reasons from how you're importing the footage: definitely ensure you use the Media Browser to import .mts files* (http://helpx.adobe.com/premiere-pro/usi ... ia_browser), don't just drag and drop into Premiere Pro, ensure you have cleared all cache and delete any .xmp file/s associated with the .mts file/s as well (check this in Finder/Explorer).

* Clear cache and any .xmp files before doing the Media Browser import.

I assume you are already, but to check, ensure you are using a full version of CS6 as trial versions can create issues.

If all else fails, you could convert the footage to another type that .mts in Adobe Media Encoder first and then bring it in, but this should be a last resort.

It isn't necessary to install K-Lite in this instance to get it to work. Premiere Pro is capable of doing it itself. Obviously there is some issue stopping it which hopefully these suggestions resolve for you.
MotionGraphics ab
 
Posts: 286
Joined: 08/13/2014, 11:47 pm
Location: Seated...in front of a screen
Twitter: https://twitter.com/mo_graph

Re: .mts file and Premiere Pro CS6 no audio

Postby Director on 09/15/2014, 11:35 pm

Yep, I already did that/ >-||
twitter.com/videography
Director
 
Posts: 376
Joined: 08/1/2008, 6:25 pm

Re: .mts file and Premiere Pro CS6 no audio

Postby MotionGraphics ab on 09/15/2014, 11:54 pm

I found this reference from Todd Kopriva (Adobe After Effecs/Premiere Pro Product Manager) http://forums.creativecow.net/thread/3/926475#928446

TLDR
AC3 audio and MPEG-based video formats are unlocked for use by the Adobe activation system. Ensure you have serial number etc. ready just in case if you do this process. Go to Help>Deactivate, quit, restart, then reactivate then create a new project and a new sequence. This technique has worked for others.
MotionGraphics ab
 
Posts: 286
Joined: 08/13/2014, 11:47 pm
Location: Seated...in front of a screen
Twitter: https://twitter.com/mo_graph


Return to Video Editing, Authoring & Compression